Trending Sources

3 Up & Coming Social Media Tactics Every Small Business or Startup.

Jason Yormark

Location Based Rewards – I love the idea of Foursquare , Whrrl and Gowalla.  I wish I wanted to use them more, but the reality is, unless I have incentive to, I just don’t find myself using them as much.  This is especially the case when you offer a product or service that is provided by major players that are hard to compete solely on price with.  Thanks for stopping by. Thanks!

3 Up & Coming Social Media Tactics Every Small Business or Startup.

Jason Yormark

Location Based Rewards – I love the idea of Foursquare , Whrrl and Gowalla.  I wish I wanted to use them more, but the reality is, unless I have incentive to, I just don’t find myself using them as much.  This is especially the case when you offer a product or service that is provided by major players that are hard to compete solely on price with.  Thanks for stopping by. Thanks!

Foursquare and The New York Times Archive Would Be a Great Match

Adam Sherk

Home About Contact PR Publishing SEO Social Media Subscribe Adam Sherk Foursquare and The New York Times Archive Would Be a Great Match by Adam Sherk on February 9, 2010 Now that Foursquare is all the rage (or the bane of existence if you don’t like all those check-in and badge tweets invading your Twitter stream) news sites are looking at how best to leverage location-based social networks.

How Pinterest Will Transform the Web in 2012: Social Content Curation As The Next Big Thing

blog.eladgil.com

Yelp (2004) is basically a food blogging platform where reviewers will go on about how their boyfriend was mean to them during dinner, before actually reviewing the food. Foursquare (2009) was one of the first networks to generate social content more or less entirely off of push button interactions. My startup Mixer Labs was acquired by Twitter where I now work. Posts.

Create a World-Class Online Community for Your Business

mashable.com

Reward Members in Pixels, Not Pennies If Foursquare has taught us anything, it’s that people will do a lot for a little digital recognition. With more than 40 million monthly pageviews, Mashable is the most prolific news site reporting breaking web news, providing analysis of trends, reviewing new Web sites and services, and offering social media resources and guides. Mobile 2.0

Class 52

How to Steal the Next Billion Dollar Website Idea: A Case Study

Viper Chill

In today’s report I look at how you can capitalise on a trend which could see you at the helm of the webs hottest startups. 24 Million Reasons to Pivot from the Best Startup Ideas. startups and bringing them to other countries around the world. They take popular US-based startup ideas, build clones of them for other countries and throw money at them until they succeed.

Best Internet Marketing Posts of 2010

Techipedia: Tamar Weinberg

Here’s how I do it : I read and review hundreds — thousands — of articles yearly, on all Internet Marketing topics from SEO to social media to general entrepreneurship (new for 2010!), Based on specific criteria, normally actionable takeaways and evergreen content, I review the content and post it here to share with Techipedia readers and new visitors. Enjoy! Video.

Should You Outsource Your Social Media Efforts?

mashable.com

Sign in All Social Media Tech & Gadgets Business & Marketing Video Mobile Dev & Design Media Social Good Startups Explore Classifieds ); // ); // Trending Stories YouTube Video of the Day: Is David Beckham’s Pepsi Clip Real or Fake? Have an account? According to a recent MerchantCircle survey of 8,500 small businesses across the U.S., How do you measure ROI? Mobile 2.0

iPad 44

This Week in Social Media – 6/5/2013

Social Media Marketing

While Facebook and Twitter receive the bulk of attention, other networks such as Pinterest, Google+ and Foursquare also rank well. We Are Social takes a look at 10 provocations for the digital/social future We Are Social - Future Factors 2013 from We Are Social Singapore Content How Harvard Business Review has transformed itself from traditional journal to a social media publisher.

What to Look For When Hiring a Community Manager

mashable.com

link] 10 Online Strategies for Your Next Product Launch | Online Buy Review [.] With more than 40 million monthly pageviews, Mashable is the most prolific news site reporting breaking web news, providing analysis of trends, reviewing new Web sites and services, and offering social media resources and guides. Have an account? Do You Need A Community Manager? Business Headlines] [.]

5 Essential Spreadsheets for Social Media Analytics

mashable.com

Sign in with Facebook or Facebook Mashable Social Media All Social Media How-To Facebook Twitter YouTube Google+ Featured in Social Media Tech All Tech Apps & Software Dev & Design Gadgets Mobile Featured in Tech Business All Business Advertising Marketing Media Small Business Startups Featured in Business Entertainment All Entertainment Film Gaming Music TV Featured in Entertainment US & World All US & World Politics Social Good U.S. Latest Startups News. Startups. Pinterest: Everything You Wanted to Know About 2012′s Hottest Startup [INFOGRAPHIC]. Startups.

Making Data Relevant: The New Metrics for Social Marketing

mashable.com

Sign in All Social Media Tech & Gadgets Business & Marketing Video Mobile Dev & Design Media Social Good Startups Classifieds Trending Stories Rupert Murdoch’s “The Daily&# Officially Launching Feb 2? Have an account? This post was co-authored by Dhiraj Rajaram, the founder and CEO of Mu Sigma. Social media has come of age. Not many, right? link] [.] Confira [.]

HOW TO: Activate Your Brand's Super Influencers

mashable.com

Offer super influencers the opportunity to obtain and review your products before they hit the market, for example. View Comments Tumblr Lands Major Investor, New Director Of Product View Comments HOW TO: Turn Your Expertise Into Dollars Online View Comments Location Shopping Startup Scores $1.5M Location Shopping Startup Scores $1.5. Foursquare Founders Strike a Pose in. Non-Profit Creates Foursquare Venues. Contact Us Submit News Contact Us Write for Us Spark of Genius Series Mashable | The Social Media Guide Business Mashable on Facebook Join Us! Thanks.

HOW TO: Gain Twitter Influence

mashable.com

Home Social Media Business Entertainment Tech Web Video Dev & Design Apple Mobile Social Good Jobs Social Media News Twitter Facebook Foursquare YouTube MySpace Google Microsoft Humor & Culture Now Trending : iPhone Versus Android: Nielsen Delivers the Numbers [STATS] November 2, 2010 Sarah Kessler View Comments HOW TO: Gain Twitter Influence email share email share Do you like this story? Foursquare Now Lets Business Owners O. More Than 20,000 Foursquare Users Hav. View More » Business Essential Startup Funding Tips From 8. Or are you even involved?

What to Consider When Building an In-House Social Media Team

mashable.com

Foursquare Now Lets Business Owners O. More Than 20,000 Foursquare Users Hav. View More » Business Essential Startup Funding Tips From 8. Push Notifications Startup Raises Ano. Movies music myspace ONLINE VIDEO politics pop culture privacy Search small business social good social media social networking social networks software sports startups tech television trending tv twitter verizon video video games viral video web video Wordpress Yahoo youtube Join More Than 2.8 What is the ultimate purpose of your social media team? Studard agrees. Mobile 2.0

Team 38

Why I Choose Whrrl For My Location Based Time

Jason Yormark

There wasn’t any real value to me to try to do it more. I’ve been wanting to write more about these services, but not until I was able to really give them a good try and for the past few weeks, I’ve immersed myself into really 3 choices, Facebook Places , Foursquare and Whrrl.  Facebook Places will survive because it’s Facebook, and Foursquare has carved out a giant piece of the location based pie so they’re most likely in.  Providing reviews and having your recommendations passed on earn you points as well.  So why I’m I on board the Whrrl train? 1. Beyond Checking In.

5 Proven Strategies for B2B Social Media Marketing

mashable.com

We're a small B2B software startup and we focus on testing out new campaigns/tools and are constantly reviewing the metrics to determine what's working. HOW TO: Win a MAZDA2 on Foursquare [S. View More » Dev & Design 7 A/B Testing Resources for Startups. Movies music myspace ONLINE VIDEO politics pop culture privacy Search small business social good social media social networking social networks software sports startups tech television trending tv twitter verizon video video games viral video web video Wordpress Yahoo youtube Join More Than 2.8

B2B 41

What the Future Holds for B2B Social Media Marketing

mashable.com

B2C and B2B companies were just as likely to be monitoring user reviews (B2B: 49%, B2C: 51%) and manage a community dedicated to customers (B2B: 49%, B2C: 51%). Foursquare Now Lets Business Owners O. More Than 20,000 Foursquare Users Hav. New Startup Seeks to Turn Your Mobile. Movies music myspace ONLINE VIDEO politics pop culture privacy Search small business social good social media social networking social networks software sports startups tech television trending tv twitter verizon video video games viral video web video Wordpress Yahoo youtube Join More Than 2.8

B2B 41

5 Proven Strategies for B2B Social Media Marketing

mashable.com

We're a small B2B software startup and we focus on testing out new campaigns/tools and are constantly reviewing the metrics to determine what's working. Captivating Works of Crowdsourced Art 7 A/B Testing Resources for Startups. Comes to Android 10 Amazing Android Photographs View More » Social Good Non-Profit Creates Foursquare Venues. Step-by-step guides to using popular websites, reviews of mobile applications, breaking news about whats happening on the web, the best viral videos, tips for marketing your businesses online and much much more!

B2B 41

What the Future Holds for B2B Social Media Marketing

mashable.com

B2C and B2B companies were just as likely to be monitoring user reviews (B2B: 49%, B2C: 51%) and manage a community dedicated to customers (B2B: 49%, B2C: 51%). Foursquare Introduces Super Duper Swa. Ways to Reduce Your Sites Bounce Rate Mobile Shopping Startup CheckPoints P. Movies music myspace ONLINE VIDEO politics pop culture privacy Search small business social good social media social networking social networks software sports startups tech television trending tv twitter verizon video video games viral video web video Wordpress Yahoo youtube Join More Than 2.8

B2B 41

Top 10 Reputation Tracking Tools Worth Paying For

mashable.com

Home Social Media Business Entertainment Tech Web Video Dev & Design Apple Mobile Social Good Jobs Social Media News Twitter Facebook Foursquare YouTube MySpace Google Microsoft Humor & Culture Now Trending : HOW TO: Optimize Your Social Media Marketing Strategy December 29, 2008 Dan Schawbel View Comments Top 10 Reputation Tracking Tools Worth Paying For email share email share Do you like this story? If you work at a startup and no one has heard of your brand, or if you’re an individual who has just started blogging, these tools are still useful to you. thanks!

3 Tips for Maximizing Engagement With Facebook Likes and Shares

mashable.com

Home Social Media Business Entertainment Tech Web Video Dev & Design Apple Mobile Social Good Jobs Social Media News Twitter Facebook Foursquare YouTube MySpace Google Microsoft Humor & Culture Now Trending : Windows Phone 7 Now Available in the U.S. For example, if someone makes a comment on an article or reviews a product, they are more likely to want to share their point of view with friends rather than “Like&# it. Captivating Works of Crowdsourced Art 7 A/B Testing Resources for Startups. November 8, 2010 David A. David A. The role of the Project Mana.

Get the Most Out of Twitter Hashtags

mashable.com

Home Social Media Business Entertainment Tech Web Video Dev & Design Apple Mobile Battles Social Good Jobs Social Media News Twitter Facebook Foursquare YouTube MySpace Google Microsoft Humor & Culture Now Trending : Nokia N8 Shipments Begin May 17, 2009 Ben Parr View Comments HOW TO: Get the Most Out of Twitter #Hashtags email share email share Do you like this story? Twubs : Twubs, which we recently reviewed , uses a wiki system to help disseminate information on a hashtag. So how do you disseminate and make sense of all this hashtag madness? How about #bizducks instead?

Why I Choose Whrrl For My Location Based Time | jasonyormark.com

Jason Yormark

There wasn’t any real value to me to try to do it more. I’ve been wanting to write more about these services, but not until I was able to really give them a good try and for the past few weeks, I’ve immersed myself into really 3 choices, Facebook Places , Foursquare and Whrrl.  Facebook Places will survive because it’s Facebook, and Foursquare has carved out a giant piece of the location based pie so they’re most likely in.  Providing reviews and having your recommendations passed on earn you points as well.  So why I’m I on board the Whrrl train? 1. Beyond Checking In.

How PR Pros Are Using Social Media for Real Results

mashable.com

Home Social Media Business Entertainment Tech Web Video Dev & Design Apple Mobile Social Good Jobs Social Media News Twitter Facebook Foursquare YouTube MySpace Google Microsoft Humor & Culture Now Trending : HOW TO: Score a Job Through Facebook March 16, 2010 Christina Warren View Comments How PR Pros Are Using Social Media for Real Results email share email share Do you like this story? Ways to Reduce Your Sites Bounce Rate Mobile Shopping Startup CheckPoints P. Top Topics Twitter YouTube Facebook iPhone Google Video Google Buzz Social media Small business Mobile 2.0

Content Is No Longer King: Curation Is King

www.businessinsider.com

Login With Facebook | Login With Twitter | Login | Register Jobs Home SAI Wire Clusterstock Money Game War Room Travel Latest Video Hive Tape Questions Blackboard Online Mobile Gadgets Media Startups Road Warriors Most Commented Digital 100 Silicon Alley 100 Hive Tape Questions Hot » Currency | Economy | Gadgets | Hedge Funds | Mobile | Wall Street. Today, the world has changed. Kaboom!

First Look: Starbucks Digital Network Is Here

mashable.com

Foursquare users can check in via the web from Starbucks stores, and Zagat makes available full ratings for restaurants in the surrounding area for free. Step-by-step guides to using popular websites, reviews of mobile applications, breaking news about whats happening on the web, the best viral videos, tips for marketing your businesses online and much much more! Contact Us Submit News Contact Us Write for Us Spark of Genius Series Mashable | The Social Media Guide Business Mashable on Facebook Join Us! The New York Times has opened up access to its Reader 2.0 Duran Goodyear.

Yahoo 34

Women in Blogging: 125 Fearless Female Bloggers

Kikolani

Her blog, Web Content Curator , covers blogging, book reviews, social media, and more. Her latest posts include A Review of the Freelance Writer’s Guide to Finding Work When Bills Are Due , Change the Future of the World , and a Freelance Writing Guide: Ten Steps, Tons of Resources. Connie is a product reviewer, wife, mom, and advocate who enjoys blogging and social media.

The Business of Social Media: B2B and B2C Engagement by the Numbers | Brian Solis

www.briansolis.com

startups. In almost every scenario I’ve encountered, executives, marcom and service executives, and brand managers have generally assumed that social and interactive activities and programming were ideally best suited for consumer applications. However, as we recently explored, in Social Media, it’s not just business, it’s business-to-business. General Buying Cycle 1. Awareness 3. Please!

Plaxo 38

Fetching Friday – Resources Mashup, Black Friday & Cyber Monday Blogging Sales

Kikolani

How my article on quitting Foursquare caused a blog traffic spike – a look at analytics and referrals when you get a post that goes viral. SEO advice for boostrapped startups – 8 tips and advice from the experts on how and what to rank for. highly recommend this course – you can read my review here. This post is part of a weekly series, Fetching Friday, featuring the resources mashup, great deals for bloggers on Black Friday and Cyber Monday, and a video to get you in the mood for Black Friday craziness on kikolani.com. The Resources Mashup. Facebook.

Business Plan Paradox: It's About the Planning, Not the Plan.

Spin Sucks

What works is to start with a plan and then review and revise it regularly. For the rest of us, it’s a short, simple, management-oriented, regularly reviewed and refreshed business plan. You review it every month. He blogs at  Planning Startups Stories. My first response to that is, with a wide grin: “Yep. Now I want to do that guest post you’re suggesting.” Seriously.

The StumbleUpon effect - Koka Sexton dot Com

Koka Sexton

¬ Terra Andersen #328 March 26th, 2008 at 3:39 am I never used SU much when I first began blogging, but as time went on, I noticed that others had reviewed and submitted my stories and posts… and they were bringing in traffic. Koka Sexton dot Com Home About Koka Contact Twitter FULL RSS The StumbleUpon effect Getting traffic to your website can be a daunting task. Leave a comment!

Build Your Own Reddit With Reddit

www.readwriteweb.com

Weve always strived to be as open and transparent with our users as possible, and [open sourcing our code] is the next logical step," said Reddit in a blog post. Reddit, which was built and maintained by just 5 people, also posted a list of the more than 15 other open source projects that the site relies on. Since reddits beginning, we have stood on the shoulders of giants in the open source world.

Social Pros 20 – Katie Morse, Billboard

Convince & Convert

To me just intrinsically, that feels like something a startup might do. It’s not like we have to continually pay attention to Yelp reviews or things like that. This is Episode 20 of the Social Pros Podcast : Real People Doing Real Work in Social Media. This episode features Katie Morse  of Billboard. Listen Now. The RSS feed is: [link]. Find us on iTunes: [link]. Jill : Hi, Jay.

Top 1000 Favorite Blogging Links of 2008

Koka Sexton

50 Ways Your Web Site Is Discouraging Conversions Top 23 “Do Follow” Social Bookmarking Sites Gentleman Joe :: Fine Ties, Gifts and Accessories How to Get a 1000% Return on a $20,000 Investment Koka Sexton dot Com ZANA Network – Business Learning The Channel Sales Playbook – Sales eBook | SOCOM Sales Tips 25 tips by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs | 4 entrepreneur Joining A Startup?

Top 1000 Favorite Blogging Links of 2008 - Koka Sexton dot Com

Koka Sexton

50 Ways Your Web Site Is Discouraging Conversions Top 23 “Do Follow” Social Bookmarking Sites Gentleman Joe :: Fine Ties, Gifts and Accessories How to Get a 1000% Return on a $20,000 Investment Koka Sexton dot Com ZANA Network – Business Learning The Channel Sales Playbook – Sales eBook | SOCOM Sales Tips 25 tips by entrepreneurs for entrepreneurs | 4 entrepreneur Joining A Startup?