Four Metrics for Measuring Social ROI
JANUARY 25, 2013
But is the quantity of data a strong enough KPI/metric to justify the time and resources companies dedicate to their social media efforts? brands should focus more on qualitative metrics which are open to adjustments and improvements over time. Following are four of those metrics for measuring social media ROI, which we see as of great importance. 1. Brand Awareness.
3 Marketing Metrics for Savvy Content Marketers
Convince & Convert
SEPTEMBER 28, 2015
Metrics are what businesses and digital marketers around the world use to determine how effective their marketing strategy is. Measuring metrics can actually become intimidatingly complex, especially for the inexperienced digital marketer. So, with that in mind, here’s a list of some important content marketing metrics to keep an eye on. Bounce Rates. Conversion Rate.
Cheat Sheet: Social Media Ad Metrics & Formulas
FEBRUARY 29, 2016
Here’s a handy cheat sheet for common social media ad metrics and the formulas used to derive them. Cost Per Click. This metric is often associated with website click ads. If you spend $100 and receive 500 clicks, the cost per click is $0.20. Cost Per Engagement. This metric is associated with promoted posts and sponsored updates. Reach. Impressions.
Five Marketing Metrics that are Definitely NOT “Worthless”
SEPTEMBER 16, 2013
Online marketing activities preovide marketers with a wealth of metrics; actually, too much information. Marketers just want the competitive and multichannel metrics they need to make informed decisions, nothing more. ” Of course it’s true that, ultimately, any marketing tactic has to show business results (higher sales, lower costs, or some combination thereof).
5 Shifts to Fix Your Social Media Metrics
Convince & Convert
NOVEMBER 17, 2014
On the social media consulting side of our business at Convince & Convert, my team and I are frequently called in to advise companies on how to improve and enhance their social media metrics. These scenarios vary based on company size and type (as well as their social media activities), but typically I find 5 areas where social media metrics and reporting can be fixed: 1.
Why Share of Voice is a Useless PR Metric
MAY 24, 2011
But the real strategic advantage comes in that the cost of the ad space is a known quantity. What action can you take based on a SOV metric alone? And if SOV alone can’t guide a decision the way sentiment, or quality of coverage, or even volume of coverage can … then is it a metric we want to be using prominently? This is a guest post by my Edelman colleague Rob Clark.
Online Ad Metrics & the Google Activate Initiative
APRIL 19, 2012
The advertiser that only pays if they get a customer uses the CPA (cost per action / acquisition) model and is popular for affiliate marketing where publishers are willing to drive traffic to high quality brands and only expect payment when an action is completed. On the opposite side of the spectrum is the CPM (cost per impression / view) model.
Should Advertising Cost Less?
APRIL 24, 2014
When it comes to advertising, we are typically looking at metrics like how large the audience will be (that will see the ad), when they will see it (time of day), how they will see it (staring at a TV, listening as they drive.) Shouldn''t the cost of advertising go down? As you get better at it, as your testing and learning, you are able to lower your cost per acquisition and get laser-focused on what works and how to optimize it. We expect marketing spending to come in below prior-year levels due to productivity movements in marketing and advertising costs."
The Social Cost of Unpaid Tweetup Teams
Bare Feet Studios
NOVEMBER 23, 2011
Looking at this strictly as business, we are providing our services for below market value in most cases based on the dollar cost of the service/product being given. In case it is not obvious why brands engage social media influencers in this manner, let me summarize as I see it: Brands give things away for free in exchange for buzz. Have you experienced this? would like to hear about it.)
Happy 4th Birthday, #measurePR: The Queen of Metrics Returns!
FEBRUARY 7, 2014
Here’s some of what we talked about: On changes in the measurement industry: @shonali #measurepr Q1: Biggest change is arrival of truly integrated metrics. Media + Google Analytics + behavior metric on one dashboard #measurepr. Happy 4th Birthday, #measurePR: The Queen of Metrics Returns! Do you know what Feb. 2nd was? Whodathunkit?! Back in 2010, Ms. measurepr. now!).
Social media metrics: why, what and how to measure according to Jim Sterne
Social Email Marketing
JUNE 26, 2011
In his book ‘Social Media Metrics’, Jim Sterne says: “The Internet has always been a social medium”. Social media management Social media metrics and measurement Social media ROI blogging bookmarking consumer-generated content customer satisfaction David Berkowitz Delicious Digg Facebook Flickr Forums and message boards Jim Sterne key performance indicator KPI LinkedIn lower costs Marketers Studio marketing mix media sharing micro-blogging Ning raise revenue roi sentiment social media marketing Social Media Metrics social networks StumbleUpon YouTube
9 Content Metrics to Keep an Eye On
JULY 11, 2014
Here are 9 content metrics that will help you determine tangible ROI from your content production. 1. Bounce rate is another important ranking factor, a metric that measures the ratio of the number of one-page visits to the number of total visits. Costs. Which of these 9 content metrics are you already measuring? Sales. Time on Page. Bounce Rate. Lead Generation.
4 Critical Mistakes that Cost me 1000?s of Subscribers, Fans and Followers
FEBRUARY 13, 2012
After that interview, I realized I had made some critical mistakes that had costs me 1,000′s of potential subscribers, fans and followers. 1. The number of people who subscribe to your blog via RSS is one of the most meaningless metrics because it’s not an accurate representation of who is really reading your blog. I’ve found blogs with 1,000′s of RSS subscribers and virtual no comments. If there’s one thing that cost me and many other bloggers 1,000′s of subscribers, it is not having landing pages in their guest post bylines. Blogging
The Most Important SEO Metrics For Backlinks Analysis
SEPTEMBER 13, 2016
In this article, I’ll show you how to determine if a backlink is right or bad for SEO and what are the most important SEO metrics to look for when doing a backlinks analysis. The most relevant SEO metrics for backlinks. When you want to determine if a backlink will have a positive impact on your SEO, you have to check the SEO metrics of the site that’s linking to you.
You Can Call Me “Boss”: Smart PR Measurement
MARCH 12, 2015
Then she asks you how what you are trying to do: Increases revenue; Lowers costs; or. She also discusses return-on-investment versus a cost/benefit analysis and the formula for success. You’ll also learn the seven deadly sins of bad PR measurement, which will help you make a case away from vanity metrics toward something that helps an organization grow. Webinar Details.
Changes to the Barcelona Principles Hurt the PR Industry
SEPTEMBER 22, 2015
There isn’t a set-in-stone way to measure the effectiveness of our programs and metrics are all over the board. The updated Principle continues to underline that Advertising Value Equivalents (AVEs) measure the cost of media space or time and do not measure the value of PR or communication, media content, earned media, etc. Where Are the Metrics? These are not metrics.
48 Ways to Measure Social Media Success
DECEMBER 20, 2011
The C-level folks may not know or particularly care what these numbers are, but if those values are off, they will affect quality, which impacts rework and warranty claims, which impact manufacturing and repair costs, which impact the ROI of each vehicle. These metrics don’t represent the goals of social media marketing in and of themselves, but are critical measures to help optimize processes to achieve the ultimate objectives. Nine Blog Metrics. Six Twitter Metrics. Six LinkedIn Metrics. Five Facebook Metrics. Ten YouTube Metrics.
A Comprehensive Facebook Ads Checklist to Increase Email Acquisition
JULY 27, 2016
To make sound decisions based on real data, measure your Facebook ad spend in relation to certain key metrics, such as the number of newly acquired email subscribers, open rates, CTRs and cost per action. Advertising/Marketing Facebook A/B testing Acceleration Partners Ad Targeting Behaviors Click-Through Rates Contests Cost per action CTA CTRs custom audiences Demographics Email lead generation Lookalike Audiences MAUs measurement Monthly active users Preferences Robert Glazer Shares Sweepstakes Targeted Ads theSkimm TwitterGet on the same page as your target customers.
The Social Organization: Social Media Metrics
MARCH 29, 2008
The Social Organization About Rachel Social Media Metrics Social Media Examples Enterprise 2.0 Hutch Carpenter from Connectbeams Thoughts Got More Metrics? We will need to think especially about metrics for the personal couple space. > [Read More] Tracked on April 01, 2008 at 06:33 PM Comments You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.
Content Marketing: How to Measure Its Effectiveness [Infographic]
AUGUST 24, 2013
Content marketing metrics can be confusing and preoccupy your time, so start by selecting a just a few fundamentals to measure. Figure out which content marketing metrics you want to measure and why. Acquisition costs for user, leads, and sales. Social metrics: Likes, follows, +1s, pins, etc. 2. Social metrics. 3. What makes this process so tricky? Likes. Traffic.
Six Killer Employment Brand Strategies for Your Business
AUGUST 27, 2015
Metrics! Along with cost-to-hire , it’s even possible to track first-click-to-hire these days. Business Growth entrepreneur click-to-hire cost-to-hire employment branding international zappos employeesBy Carol Scott. You’ve read the research and heard the buzz. Employment Brand Strategies for Your Business. But…how do you make it happen? Feeling stymied? Do Your Research.
30 Low-Cost Ideas for Content Marketing on a Shoestring Budget
MAY 28, 2013
If you ever want to really annoy a marketer, tell them that content is low cost marketing. Interview a Customer. A 30 minute interview with a customer could be repurposed into loads of low cost marketing content. Type out a thoughtful answer to a question posed on social media, in blog comments, or via email, and publish for low cost marketing. 3. Answer Questions. Slideshare.
Why 84% of Your Facebook Fans are Lurkers
APRIL 18, 2012
This directly correlates to increased metrics. 3. If nothing works to engage fans on your Facebook page, remember that lower visibility may increase your cost per customer and directly correlate to losing profit potential. Maybe your page should die and you should use Facebook advertising alone to send people to your website to reduce the number of steps and save costs per customer.
Three Tools to Show PR Value
MARCH 19, 2015
Remember, not all clients share the same end game so the objectives, and metrics you use to measure them will all be individual. . There’s a reason some agencies and teams skip metrics and reporting all together. Every client has different metrics for success. Communication Measurement aly saxe CMO Google analytics Metrics PR measurement PR strategy pr value Preparation.
Measuring Multimedia: The One Stat Every Brand Should More Closely Examine
AUGUST 24, 2016
Don’t let old content become a sunk cost. Measurement & Metrics Strategy making better videos Measuring Multimedia video CTAsGuest Post by Dan Farkas. Why are we doing what we are doing? If you don’t know the answer, stop.“ ~ Dan Farkas. As a new school year begins at Ohio University , I put the over/under on how many times I make that statement to students at 300. Take the over.
Media Relations: Track Effectiveness to Prove Investment
APRIL 14, 2015
” It sells for $9.95 so we made $8,955 from that one story we pitched. I’m willing to bet it didn’t cost you nearly $9,000 to place the story so your return-on-investment is pretty high. Communication Media Relations content hubs Google Keyword Planner Measurement media relations for seo Metrics moz toolbar OpenSiteExplorer webinar Use the Google Keyword Planner. I
5 things to measure in social media ROI
NOVEMBER 1, 2011
We’ve been talk A LOT about social media analytics, metrics and measurement here on this blog. Social Media Metrics and ROI for You. CPC: Cost per Click advertising is still a highly effective way to drive traffic to a website, but how does social media compare? When there is a cost savings, then that should be included in the ROI model as well.
Are You Measuring Cost Of Acquisition?
Small Business Mavericks
JANUARY 3, 2013
When it comes to business metrics , no metric is as important as the cost of acquiring a new customer. It is this metric that determines whether you are profitable or not. This is where the cost of customer acquisition gets sticky. If there is a way to control the cost of aqcquisition, and there usually is, then you should control that cost. If you can reduce the cost of acquiring a new customer from $20 to $15, then you might only lose $5 on the new customer. Manage that cost of acquisition. There is a caveat.
Why Influencer Marketing is Creating Huge Returns for Businesses
Convince & Convert
APRIL 8, 2015
Influencer Marketing Tied for Most Cost-Effective Channel. 22% of marketers say influencer marketing is their most cost-effective customer acquisition channel. Affiliate marketing performed poorly, ranked most cost-effective by just 2% of marketers. Currently influencer marketing is so cost-effective that marketers can afford to make mistakes, learn, and refine their process.
50 (of the) Best Social Media Guides, Tips and Insights of 2011 (So Far)
SEPTEMBER 12, 2011
As social media monitoring and integration with CRM systems improves, marketers will have the metrics and analytical tools to more accurately assess the value of various social media efforts and continually improve them. Adam Boyden details key features and capabilities of several fee-based and free (or low cost) social media monitoring tools including Sysomos , Beevolve and ReSearch.ly.
5 Ways to Measure Agency Operations
JULY 20, 2016
But in order to grow, exit, or even stay in business, it’s critical that agencies measure and improve their operational performance with these metrics that matter: 1. how much does it cost to run your business? According According to agency M&A expert Rick Gould , agency total labor costs should be no more than 55% of revenue and overhead no more than 25%. It’s not sexy.
CPA: A Viable Alternative to CPC
FEBRUARY 11, 2012
When a business starts investing in online media for the first time, the first step for its digital media specialist is to educate company management in cost per click (CPC, also known as pay per click or PPC) as a benchmark to establish the effectiveness of purchased media channels. Web Analytics cost per acquisition cost per click cpa cpcThe Usual Scenario. Takeaway.
#measurePR Recap: Chatting with Heidi Sullivan
AUGUST 20, 2014
We then moved on to one of Heidi’s favorite topics, obtaining a budget for PR that is comparable to marketing by diminishing the stigma of PR being a cost center : A3: Objective setting is key: what will you measure? Know beforehand & avoid vanity metrics #measurepr. Events Measurement MeasurePR Shonali Burke #measurepr digital content heidi sullivan social metrics
Smart Measurement For Creative People
JUNE 26, 2013
Tracking growth by using numerical metrics can be a huge hurdle for some creative-minded leaders. Check out the following scenario to see how you can use the metrics to judge the impact of your marketing scheme. With a simple tracking metric, you’ve gained an incredible amount of information about your customers and their habits. Calculate the cost per customer.
Your Client Hates You and You Don’t Even Know it
OCTOBER 7, 2015
Awards and speaker abstracts we submitted, and the status of each, new editorial and event opportunities with deadlines, costs and other decision-making details. Client Service Communication adage Basecamp Measurement PR metrics status reports weekly reports your agency hates youBy Aly Saxe. Maybe you read the AdAge article, “ Your Agency Hates You and You Don’t Even Know It.
How HR Technology Can Increase Your Company’s Bottom Line
The Realtime Report
JUNE 3, 2016
HR solutions such as those available on xcdhr.com can give your company a much needed boost in profitability by reducing costs proportionately. HR software and cloud computing have joined forces to keep hard print copies to a minimum and even more cost effective is the fact that many of these tasks can be automated. Realtime Metrics For Cost And Quality Control.
Judging new media by old media metrics
The Way of the Web
NOVEMBER 12, 2012
The cost of a prime time TV network show would be far more than a Youtube channel, and if it failed, there’s no coming back – compared to any of the ‘failed’ channels which could still break out with their next video or series. The long tail strikes again: Presumably Google has already made back the initial investment on the 40% for renewal, or is close. Buffer.
How Tools Measure Your Internet Life
JULY 26, 2011
If you want to run metrics that you can download to Microsoft Excel, use RowFeeder. If you want to aggregate common business metrics into one dashboard, use Metricly. Others cost money. Productivity metrics toolsLook at a Heardable report extract. million sites. Heardable is not alone. Some are comprehensive and others are specific to this platform or that.
Calculate Your Blogging ROI in 9 Steps
Convince & Convert
JULY 26, 2011
Thus, blogging presents a serious opportunity cost to the company. What do those hours cost the company in salary? What do those hours cost the company in overhead and benefits? Take your monthly salary costs figure ($1405) and multiply it by your company’s standard overhead calculation. The total labor cost for your blog per month is $2037 ($1405 + $632). D.
20 Ways to Generate ROI from a Corporate Blog
MAY 10, 2011
It’s challenging to get the metrics really needed to measure social media ROI primarily because social media is much more like public relations than it is like direct marketing or search engine advertising. The “ROI of social media (or lack thereof) is a hot, and still hotly contested, topic. summarized arguments from both sides a few months ago in The Social Media ROI Debate.