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Four Metrics for Measuring Social ROI

Mindjumpers

But is the quantity of data a strong enough KPI/metric to justify the time and resources companies dedicate to their social media efforts? brands should focus more on qualitative metrics which are open to adjustments and improvements over time. Following are four of those metrics for measuring social media ROI, which we see as of great importance. 1. Brand Awareness.

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How HR Technology Can Increase Your Company’s Bottom Line

The Realtime Report

How HR Technology Can Increase Your Company’s Bottom Line. No company could stay in business long if it doesn’t realize a profit. The higher your company’s profit margin, the larger you can grow and that is of course a given. HR solutions such as those available on xcdhr.com can give your company a much needed boost in profitability by reducing costs proportionately.

3 Marketing Metrics for Savvy Content Marketers

Convince & Convert

Metrics are what businesses and digital marketers around the world use to determine how effective their marketing strategy is. Measuring metrics can actually become intimidatingly complex, especially for the inexperienced digital marketer. So, with that in mind, here’s a list of some important content marketing metrics to keep an eye on. Bounce Rates. Conversion Rate.

Five Marketing Metrics that are Definitely NOT “Worthless”

Webbiquity SMM

Online marketing activities preovide marketers with a wealth of metrics; actually, too much information. Marketers just want the competitive and multichannel metrics they need to make informed decisions, nothing more. ” Of course it’s true that, ultimately,  any marketing tactic has to show business results (higher sales,  lower costs, or some combination thereof).

Cheat Sheet: Social Media Ad Metrics & Formulas

Firebelly

Here’s a handy cheat sheet for common social media ad metrics and the formulas used to derive them. Cost Per Click. This metric is often associated with website click ads. If you spend $100 and receive 500 clicks, the cost per click is $0.20. Cost Per Engagement. This metric is associated with promoted posts and sponsored updates. Reach. Impressions.

Workplace (Formerly Facebook at Work) Officially Launches Worldwide

SocialTimes Facebook

Workplace brings traditional Facebook features such as News Feed , groups , messaging , Facebook Live  livestreaming, Reactions , search  and Trending  to company networks that are kept separate from Facebook users’ personal profiles. This means that companies will have more ways to access Workplace–by working with our teams directly or via our approved and trained partners.

Changes to the Barcelona Principles Hurt the PR Industry

Spin Sucks

There isn’t a set-in-stone way to measure the effectiveness of our programs and metrics are all over the board. While the Barcelona Principles were intended to provide a foundation for PR programs, the updated  Barcelona  Principles recognize that they can also be applied to the larger communication function of any organization, government, company or brand globally. Well, duh.

48 Ways to Measure Social Media Success

Webbiquity SMM

The C-level folks may not know or particularly care what these numbers are, but if those values are off, they will affect quality, which impacts rework and warranty claims, which impact manufacturing and repair costs, which impact the ROI of each vehicle. These metrics don’t represent the goals of social media marketing in and of themselves, but are critical measures to help optimize processes to achieve the ultimate objectives. Nine Blog Metrics. company website, newsletters, syndication sites). Six Twitter Metrics. Six LinkedIn Metrics.

Building a 7-Figure a Year SEO Company…by Marketing to the Medical Field

Viper Chill

As a result of so much of my time being spent focused on building an SEO company and ranking websites, I’ve been fortunate to come across a number of people who are on a similar journey. could go on for hours on this. I am half inspired to do this in my own area even though we have a very successful international company. Why did you focus primarily on search? London Hotel.

Content Marketing: How to Measure Its Effectiveness [Infographic]

Pamorama

Content marketing metrics can be confusing and preoccupy your time, so start by selecting a just a few fundamentals to measure. While some large companies like Sears, Coca-Cola, and Kraft have quickly caught on to content marketing and are able to accurately measure and leverage their results, it’s not always easy to quantify the value of a piece of content. Social metrics. 3.

The Social Organization: Social Media Metrics

rhappe.typepad.com

The Social Organization About Rachel Social Media Metrics Social Media Examples Enterprise 2.0 Hutch Carpenter from Connectbeams Thoughts Got More Metrics? We will need to think especially about metrics for the personal couple space. > [Read More] Tracked on April 01, 2008 at 06:33 PM Comments You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

A Comprehensive Facebook Ads Checklist to Increase Email Acquisition

SocialTimes Facebook

To make sound decisions based on real data, measure your Facebook ad spend in relation to certain key metrics, such as the number of newly acquired email subscribers, open rates, CTRs and cost per action. The company always includes a social element in its correspondence with subscribers, providing the option for users to easily share its articles and newsletters via Facebook and Twitter. While email is the closest thing to direct communication in the digital age, few people would gripe about a drought hitting their inbox. Get on the same page as your target customers.

Six Killer Employment Brand Strategies for Your Business

Spin Sucks

And it isn’t just about defining what makes your company a great place to work, either—though that’s something you should already know! Instead, you need to convey the culture of   your company with accuracy. Metrics! Along with cost-to-hire , it’s even possible to track first-click-to-hire these days. By Carol Scott. You’ve read the research and heard the buzz. Scary?

Social Pros 6 – Instagram Lessons from a Giant B2B Company

Convince & Convert

This episode features Jonathan Wichmann  the head of social media for Maersk Line , the world’s largest container shipping company. Read Huge thanks to data-driven social media management software company  Argyle Social for their presenting sponsorship, as well as Infusionsoft and Jim Kukral at DigitalBookLaunch. It is a global company. Listen Now. Eric, how are you?

20 Ways to Generate ROI from a Corporate Blog

Webbiquity SMM

And another  recent study from McKinsey concluded that, whether you can directly measure ROI or not, companies that embrace social media are more profitable than those who don’t, and “those that fail to implement social media could be making a “critical mistake”.&#. Corporate blogs can operate in a similar fashion, except that the sole sponsor or advertiser is the company itself.

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30 Low-Cost Ideas for Content Marketing on a Shoestring Budget

Writtent Blog

If you ever want to really annoy a marketer, tell them that content is low cost marketing. Interview a Customer. A 30 minute interview with a customer could be repurposed into loads of low cost marketing content. Type out a thoughtful answer to a question posed on social media, in blog comments, or via email, and publish for low cost marketing. 3. Answer Questions. Slideshare.

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Three Tools to Show PR Value

Spin Sucks

When the CMO or some other skeptical business leader wants to know exactly how you’re contributing to the company’s bottom line—from supporting their marketing efforts to elevating leadership visibility—you must be able to show PR value and clear  return-on-investment  in a way that will resonate. There’s a reason some agencies and teams skip metrics and reporting all together.

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5 things to measure in social media ROI

Akamai Marketing

We’ve been talk A LOT about social media analytics, metrics and measurement here on this blog. Social Media Metrics and ROI for You. CPC: Cost per Click advertising is still a highly effective way to drive traffic to a website, but how does social media compare? When there is a cost savings, then that should be included in the ROI model as well. 

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Public Relations: Controlling the Uncontrollable

Waxing UnLyrical

In advertising , for example, one controls the frequency, positioning and placement of key intended messages, but control comes as a cost: one purchases that ability. Measurement & Metrics Strategy message exposure PRIME Research Public RelationsGuest Post by Mark Weiner. What makes Public Relations unique within the communications and marketing mix?  Regaining control.

50 (of the) Best Social Media Guides, Tips and Insights of 2011 (So Far)

Webbiquity SMM

Ways B2B Companies Can Use Location Based Services by Social Media B2B. As social media monitoring and integration with CRM systems improves, marketers will have the metrics and analytical tools to more accurately assess the value of various social media efforts and continually improve them. NLRB Says Companies Can Not Discipline Workers For Posts in Social Media by iMedia Connection.

5 Ways to Measure Agency Operations

Waxing UnLyrical

But in order to grow, exit, or even stay in business, it’s critical that agencies measure and improve their operational performance with these metrics that matter: 1. Once you know where you stand, you can begin to track your performance against internal company goals, as well as the industry’s most successful agencies. 3. how much does it cost to run your business? According

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CPA: A Viable Alternative to CPC

Idaconcpts

When a business starts investing in online media for the first time, the first step for its digital media specialist is to educate company management in cost per click (CPC, also known as pay per click or PPC) as a benchmark to establish the effectiveness of purchased media channels. Web Analytics cost per acquisition cost per click cpa cpcThe Usual Scenario. Takeaway.

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Your Client Hates You and You Don’t Even Know it

Spin Sucks

Few companies today aren’t data driven, which means gone are the days that you get to keep the client based on nothing more than the feel goods. Awards and speaker abstracts we submitted, and the status of each, new editorial and event opportunities with deadlines, costs and other decision-making details. By Aly Saxe. When I read this, I thought, “Self, the reverse is true too.

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Calculate Your Blogging ROI in 9 Steps

Convince & Convert

Creating and sustaining a good blog for yourself or your company is a highly labor-intensive proposition. The people (maybe you) working on the blog could be doing something else that helps the company make money, save money, or both. Thus, blogging presents a serious opportunity cost to the company. What do those hours cost the company in salary?

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How Tools Measure Your Internet Life

Ari Herzog

There are many tools that analyze your internet life, some focusing on brands and companies and others specific for individuals. If you want to run metrics that you can download to Microsoft Excel, use RowFeeder. If you want to aggregate common business metrics into one dashboard, use Metricly. Others cost money. Productivity metrics toolsmillion sites.

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A New Way to Calculate What Facebook is Worth to Your Business

Convince & Convert

Almost every company has some sort of email newsletter, and that communication channel has a cost associated with it, comprised of fees paid to send the email using a company like ExactTarget (client); fees or staff time needed to design email newsletters; analysis time; and probably some business rules and marketing time to think through sequencing, offers, subject lines, etc.

What New Data Tells Us About Blog Advertising

Convince & Convert

With the rise of new social media channels, influencer marketing company  Mediakix  evaluated who’s advertising with bloggers and how this space has grown. Many brands are well-backed and structure their  advertising to be cost-per-acquisition (CPA) effective—keen to drive the most amount of ROI for their ad spend. On WordPress blogs alone, over 409 million people view more than 20.4

How to Sell Smarter Using Social Insights

Convince & Convert

He suggests that, rather than shelling out for costly focus groups, sales teams are realizing that social media provides endless information about what their audience cares about, how they consume media, and what motivates their decision-making. great example of a company that did just that is Coca-Cola. Image via BigStockPhoto.com. Are sales dropping? Find out why.

Social Media ROI’s Missing Ingredient

Convince & Convert

We spend almost no time figuring out how much does it actually cost us to do these things in social media? So my advice is to spend some time thinking about what are your true costs in social media and how to assign those costs on a weekly basis, a monthly basis, a per channel basis, and/or a per post basis to figure out what your actual return is. Now You Know Your Costs.

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9 Creepily Effective Content Marketing Tricks for Halloween 2013

Writtent Blog

Even if your company’s products or services have nothing to do with pumpkin-carving or cat ears, it could be an incredibly effective way to increase engagement. It could be one of the easiest ways to humanize your company and create likeable Halloween marketing. 6. And what better way to showcase your company’s dark side than with a video? Company News Create a Video.

Quiz: Put Your Data Literacy to the Test

Spin Sucks

The honeycombed matrix below, which she’s coined “The PR Hybrid Professional Chart of Responsibility,” outlines roles spanning from Master of Metrics and Technology Tester to Relationship Analyzer and beyond. Communication Measurement airpr deirdre breakenridge master of metrics pr hybrid professional chart prtech pure communications relationship analyzer technology testerWeeeeee….

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The Fight for the Future of Influencer Analytics

Convince & Convert

Using influencers to solely drive awareness is as cost-effective as a Paula Deen fitness camp. So if a company is evaluating me as a potential outreach target, shouldn’t they want to work with me only on Twitter and Facebook? Big news last week as Klout announced a significant overhaul of its influencer identification platform. Fair enough. Very easy to use. Nobody. Thanks all.

5 Deadly Ad Buying Mistakes

Convince & Convert

If you want to make money, target the right people. 2) Analyzing the Wrong Metrics. Many marketers remain obsessed with the C-suite of metrics: CPM, CPC, CTR, CPV, and CPA. But all of those metrics are merely cost-based metrics—all they tell you is how much different components or outcomes in a campaign cost. Image via BigStockPhoto.com.

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Buy CPA CPC CPM 16

How to Calculate the ROI of Social Media Marketing [Infographic]

Webbiquity SMM

Do you know how each campaign performed when measured against those metrics, and how they contributed to the bottom line? So much of social media is on the fly—a response rather than a plan—that it can become a slippery planning slope for companies, especially those that are understaffed. It has costs, which can be directly measured. But it doesn’t have to be that way.

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Enterprises Struggle To Measure Social Media ROI

Proactive Report

Our recent study of the top companies across several categories revealed that on average just over 80% are using some form of social media. So, although we like to feel that social media marketing is maturing, it seems there are far too many companies that are still throwing ideas and money against the wall and not even checking to see if it sticks! metrics twitter

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Moneyball Principles for Content Marketing

Convince & Convert

This will help you focus and improve your content efforts, because every piece of content you create has an opportunity cost associated with it. The metric to be considered here is search volume (daily, weekly or monthly). 3. How do you decide what to create content about in your company? Chris Sietsema is Social & Digital Operations Lead at Convince & Convert.

Moneyball Principles for Content Marketing

Convince & Convert

This will help you focus and improve your content efforts, because every piece of content you create has an opportunity cost associated with it. The metric to be considered here is search volume (daily, weekly or monthly). 3. How do you decide what to create content about in your company? Chris Sietsema is Social & Digital Operations Lead at Convince & Convert.

Is Our Addiction to ROI Killing Social Media?

Convince & Convert

didn’t know him, and hadn’t worked with his (large) company. Internal materials costs? Many of those financials, which the enterprise considers ‘fixed costs’ are necessary data points if you’re going to *truly* calculate ROI. Tweet Guest post by Matt Ridings , founder of MSR Consulting, a Digital Relationship Marketing Agency in St. Louis.

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Fluency of Culture, Not Language, Is Key to Winning Big in Global Online Markets

Webbiquity SMM

The smartest companies are always looking to reach untapped markets. This rapid adoption and activity can make a big difference for expanding companies. It’s a best practice for companies to translate their social media posts for new global markets. This practically eliminates any friction between a company’s content and a consumer finding—and sharing—it. during Ramadan.

5 Reasons Your Social Media ROI Sucks

SocialFish

Emails are portable and cost less later on, given the need in Facebook to pay to promote your posts to your fans. 2. You’re Using The Wrong Metrics. Without a key metric, you’ll get caught up in looking at the wrong numbers. Once per week or month, go back and see which ads and posts and tweets and blog posts are working (in terms of your key metric), and which aren’t.

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